

The Chamber means BUSINES

April 21st, 2023

<u>T&T CHAMBER APPOINTS NEW PRESIDENT</u> Second Female President in its 144-year History

Dear Media Partner,

The Trinidad and Tobago Chamber of Industry and Commerce (T&T Chamber) held its Annual Business Meeting on Thursday, April 20, 2023, at which a Board of Directors was elected to serve a one-year term over 2023-2024 period. This meeting was held at the Hyatt, Regency in Port of Spain and preceded the Annual Business Meeting.

We are pleased to announce the following:

Ms. Kiran Maharaj was appointed as President of the T&T Chamber.

Ms. Maharaj is the Managing Director of Caribbean Lifestyle Communications, which includes Music Radio 97.1FM, The People's Station Radio 90.5FM, and Heartbeat Radio for Women 104.1FM.

She is the Co-Founder and President of the Jamaica-based non-profit Media Institute of the Caribbean (MIC), a former President of the Trinidad and Tobago Publishers and Broadcasters Association (TTPBA), and a Past President of the Greater Tunapuna Chamber of Industry and Commerce. Ms. Maharaj is presently a Council Member of the Organization of American States (OAS) Centre for Media Integrity of the Americas.

Her career in media and entertainment spans more than 30 years, and she has worked in a variety of media industries as a senior executive and owner. Her academic background includes Business Administration; Journalism; Digital Marketing, Media, Sports and Event Management from the University of the West Indies St Augustine, Harvard Business School, and New York University.

She enjoys working with non-profits and civil society entities who are focused on improving their communities and providing opportunities through innovation.

Ms. Maharaj will continue to work alongside Chief Executive Officer, Stephen de Gannes and Chief Operations Officer, Michelle Gonsalves-Suite.





We also take this opportunity to warmly welcome our full Board of Directors for the period 2023-2024:

David Hadeed – Vice President Karen Yip Chuck – Vice President Christian Stone – Vice President Sonji Pierre-Chase – Vice President Jason Julien – Director Mark Laquis – Director Marc Persaud – Director Camille Chatoor – Director Sacha Thompson – Director Bryan Ramsumair – Director Jean-Paul Dookie – Director Roxane E. De Freitas – Director Charles Pashley – Director/Immediate Past President

At the Tobago Division, please note a New Management Committee was appointed on 17th April 2023:

Curtis Williams – Chair Demi Cruickshank – Vice-Chair Lesa Cruickshank-Simon – Honorary Secretary Kai Townsend – Assistant Honorary Secretary

Janet Parks – Committee Member Ken Jones – Committee Member Paula Stowe – Committee Member Natalie Mahabir – Committee Member Stephen Sheppard – Committee Member

Biographies and photographs for all our directors are available on the T&T Chamber's website.